• ‘Cross at the Otter

    by  • April 26, 2013 • cx, norcal scene

    26 April 2013

    ‘Cross in April – it could be the Southern Hemisphere…or Sea Otter. For the second year running, there was a cyclocross race at the Sea Otter Classic. Under modestly cooler temperatures than last, this year still saw some blistering racing.

    Mical Dyck Remounts Coming Out of the Gravel Trap

    Mical Dyck Remounts Coming Out of the Gravel Trap

    In the Pro/1/2 Women’s race, the early leaders Nicole Duke (Alchemy), Caroline Mani (Raleigh-Clement), and Mical Dyck (NoTubes) gradually stole away from the rest of the field.

    The three riders held command over the race until a late crash took Duke out of contention. Mani put in a charge over the gravel-trap, of the auto-racing course, and Dyck faltered.

    Mani continued to apply pressure to score a comfortable 6-second win over the 2012 Single Speed World Champion. Duke, never able to regain contact with the leaders, grabbed the third spot.

    In the race for Pro/1/2 Men, Ben Berden (Raleigh-Clement) made it a double-win for the team in the Raleigh sponsored race.

    It was Johnathan Page who took the early lead but Troy Wells (Clif Bar) lead racers through the pump track first. On the next circuit, Justine Lindine (Redline), Ryan Trebon (Cannondale-CyclocrossWorld), Wells, and Berden were the lead group.

    As the race progressed, Berden took and consolidated his lead. The coup de grâce came on the final lap as Berden put in a charge to pull away from Wells and Trebon as Lindine lost touch.

    With the late afternoon setting sun, Berden took the victory with a margin of 6 seconds while Wells won the sprint for second over Trebon.

    Pro/1/2 Women’s Results
    1. Caroline Mani
    2. Mical Dyck
    3. Nicole Duke
    4. Maghalie Rochette
    5. Amanda Carey
    6. Nina Baum
    7. Amanda Nauman
    8. Katie Jay Melena
    9. Hollie McGovern
    10. Joanne Grogan
    11. Carolina Gomez-Villafañe
    12. Dorothy Wong
    13. Julie Barton

    Pro/1/2 Men’s Results
    1. Ben Berden
    2. Troy Wells
    3. Ryan Trebon
    4. Justin Lindine
    5. Robert Marion
    6. Spencer Paxson
    7. Tyler Coplea
    8. Jonathan Page
    9. Chase Dickens
    10. Chris Jackson
    11. Cameron Beard
    12. Jordan Anderson
    13. Brady Kappius
    14. Samuel Rosenberg
    15. Blake Rowan
    16. Javier Colton

    Photo Gallery



    Powered by Facebook Comments